How do you stop thinking?

Keep_thinkingToday I went to an ophthalmologist. Though not a computer geek, I am having that problem of forgetting to blink my eyes when looking at a computer. (Yeah believe me!! I’m not joking!!) That makes my eyes reddish. My eyes were blood red today. But surprisingly I’ve not been at my computer for past 2-3 days coz of my busy schedule! That left me baffled!! I had always thought that this poor computer had been giving my eyes all the trouble. (Yeah agreed. Not ALL). Now it seems that this computer had almost nothing to do with my eye problem.

I went to the doctor. And guess what he told me. He told that I’m thinking too much!! That’s giving my eyes all the trouble. Priiinngggg!!

That gave me another thing to think about.

Since this is not the first time I’m being told that I think too much, I think I must seriously think about how to stop thinking!!!

I had been told this last time by Dr. when I consulted him for a skin allergy. Being a homeo doctor, he took a complete psychological profile. That’s when he commented so.

The most dramatic one was by Mr.Ganesh Iyer when he was giving us counseling during the placement training. Ha ha ha. The incident was so funny and he said this with a red face!! And with some recent developments I think what he said is coming true… but I’m not ready to give up yet!! Ok leave that. I know you are not getting a word of what I’m saying.

Once when I was attending a Yoga Training Camp, our trainer asked us not think of monkeys or grapes just before the bedtime. And as you can guess, that was the only thing we did that night. We have been thinking of that incident even to this day, especially when we meet anyone from that camp. May be you should try this. Decide on something that you are not going to think about tonight. And try not to think about it.

Well. Getting back to what I was thinking. How to stop thinking when you want to? It is not that I decide on topics on which I have to think about. It just happens. Even when I am doing something I’ll have something to think about. It is not anything big. I’m not trying to solve any problem nor inventing new theories. I am not thinking about anything I really have to think about… like my career… future….or anything of that sort. But I realize that I’m thinking all the time. On things that might look very trivial to most people. My eyes get locked on small small things.

I’ve always heard this answer from many people all the time, especially from Jithin Mathew.
“What are you thinking about?”
“Nothing”
“What were you doing?”
“Nothing”
“What do you think about this?”
“Nothing”

And from Meera
“I didn’t get that. What was that?”
“Nothing”
“What?”
“Nothing”

And you know who had asked readers to define blankness here.

So my question is how do you get to that blankness in thought? How do you stop thinking when you want to?

If there is anyone out there who knows how to stop thinking, please help me. Pleaseeeeeeeeeee… I beg you….. Please help me control my thoughts.

And obviously I don’t want to die.

8 thoughts on “How do you stop thinking?

  1. Focusing on some work or doing meditation will help you to get rid of problems caused by intense random thoughts.

    But still there is something fundamentally wrong in thinking about how to stop thinking. May be because of the same reason why we cannot turn off a switch using the same switch.

    Like

  2. R. McDonald says:

    I think you could do meditation because it focuses on one specific thought but it would take time to develop skill to keep on one topic.

    The best thing is to do something physical that makes you pay attention to the physical so much that you don’t allow thinking beyond “don’t fall over” or “move left” etc.

    Or if you do something like dishes and only focus on cleaning the dishes and force yourself to not think about anything but washing them.

    You pretty much need to focus on the present only and not allow yourself to continue thinking about anything that isn’t relevant to the present.

    It may help you to set aside time to write out all your random thoughts to get them out of your head too.

    Like

  3. Hi,

    Stumbled on this post as I was searching for a definition on ‘obsession’. Really gave me the chuckles. Didn’t know that thinking too much can affect ones eyes.

    Anyway, hope you did find a way to control those thoughts.

    Like

    • Jithin V Mohan says:

      OMG!! You reached here while searching for obsession!!! Interesting!!

      Thinking too much is giving my eyes lot of trouble because my sleep is not continuous! And I am never calm and relaxed!!

      P.S: I am still thinking about how to stop thinking!

      Like

  4. Annie Sofia says:

    Your thoughts are you: that is why you cannot stop thinking. You exist because you think, you cannot keep from thinking. As long as you are going to be thinking anyway, think Big.
    But be aware of the thoughts that come into your mind; and think of a single thing at a time.
    When are doing something, do it with pleasure. Look into it, feel it, enjoy it and love it. Thats how you can make it your only thought.
    Just like, when you write down your ideas, you automatically focus your full attention on them. Thus the pen and paper make excellent concentraction tools.
    When you read these words, be in them.. do not take your mind to the things that are unsaid.
    Practice in the same way, all the time. Stay alive and live in present.. And if it is hard to be focused on a single thought, practice meditation. In deep meditation the flow of concentration is continuous like the flow of oil. That will let you be relaxed,make your body free and your mind will be calm.
    And if none of the above works out…Think of Me… then you will stop..At the very moment..!!
    Good luck.. 🙂

    Like

  5. Jithin V Mohan says:

    Ha ha ha!! Nice thoughts!! And an excellent tip at the end!! 😀 Ha ha ha!

    But the point is, I already indulge myself fully into what ever I do!
    When are doing something, I do it with pleasure. I Look into it, feel it, enjoy it and love it. But that doesn’t really stop me from thinking about anything else!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

